debz

Soon Heng Rojak

In Eating out, Food from Home, Outside Dubai, singapore, snacks n bites on March 10, 2012 at 10:23

I have been away from home for way way way too long when I can stumble upon a famous hawker stall and not know how good it is till I take the time to check out on the stall name after I get home cos I had such good food that day.

This is the story for Soon Heng Rojak for me. I ended at Toa Payoh as I had some errands that landed me there. I noticed this endless queue and the curious ole me decided to join to queue to see what the fuss was about, the worst case would just be some overhyped food stall rojak, the best case would be yet another gem found. Not much to lose, since I had time to kill.

25 minutes of queuing later, I got what I had been waiting for. My very own plate of the Rojak! For SGD$5 it is a pretty generous plate of youtao, beancurd puff, cucumber, pineapple, cuttlefish, century egg, bean sprouts and kangkong that is smoothed in prawn paste and peanut sauce. The cuttlefish was a nice addition that was pretty much of a surprise as not many rojak places include this ingredient!

Was it worth a drive to the other side of the island? Well I wouldn’t make a trip just to have this but should I be in the neighbourhood, I wouldn’t mind queuing for this.

Leave a Reply

