debz

Rajasthani thali

In Eating out, India, Outside Dubai on February 25, 2012 at 11:14

Spent quite a bit of time in South-Asia in the past year but I guess the food hasn’t been much of my focus while I was there. After a really bad experience with food poisoning a very bad case of runs, there is a certain fear to try some new items while I was there.

This is something that I had while I was visiting Rajas-than, its called the Rajasthani thali. It was something we had while we were on the road in some ramdom little place. I’m sorry I don’t know how much this costs as the meal was not paid by me.

A thali is a selection of different dishes, usually served in small bowls on a round tray. The round tray is generally made with steel with multiple compartments. Depending on the restaurant or the region you are in, the thali consists of delicacies native to that region. Thali starts out with puris, chapatis, and different vegetarian curries.

This thali came with a yogurt, some cabbage curry, a form of pickles, some veggie curry, some chutney and some desserts.

  1. Love the new blog design!! 🙂

    When you visit Dubai next, we’ll do an all-out insane Rajasthani thaali at this place in Bur Dubai 😉

Leave a Reply

