debz

Debz’s Jap Beef Curry

In Food from Home on June 22, 2010 at 20:07

What happens when a sudden food craving hits Debz? Well she thinks, plans and then cooks what she feels like eating. Suddenly had a craving for Japanese curry and decided to act on my craving. A quick trip to Spinneys later and I had everything I needed to cook my curry…

Had so much processed food in the past few weeks since I got to Dubai and I felt like I owe myself something nice and home-cooked and thus the Japanese curry. I know that there are many pre-mixes available in the market but sometimes I just want to have that home cooked taste.

Well I cooked this and I had enough to feed 3 friends and a serving for me to freeze to eat another day … keke

Japanese beef curry (serves 4-6)

Ingredients

1. 450-500g Brazilian beef, preferably fresh and not frozen
2. 8 red onions, finely chopped
3. 4 cloves garlic, finely chopped
4. 500ml beef stock
5. 4 large carrots, diced
6. 1 red apple, deskined and finely chopped
7. 10 baby potatoes, halved
8. 1 tablespoon of butter
9. Salt and pepper, to taste

For the curry roux:

1. 3 Tablespoons of butter,
2. 4 Tablespoons of corn starch
3. 3 Tablespoons of curry powder

Method

1. Place 1 tablespoon of butter in a heated plan
2. Add onions, garlic and apple and stir fry
3. Brown the beef in the pan
4. Add the carrots and potato into the mix
5. Add beef stock and bring to a boil and simmer for 30 minutes
6. Using another pan, heat the 3 tablespoons of butter
a. Add the curry powder and mix well
b. Add the starch and blend till the mixture thickens
7. Add the curry roux from step 6 to the other ingredients and mix well
8. Simmer for another 20minutes, stirring once in awhile to prevent the beef or vegetable from sticking on the pan and getting burn.
9. Serve on a bed of Japanese short grain steam rice …

Leave a Reply

