debz

Lemongrass Express

In Eating out on June 11, 2010 at 15:54

Have been informed by some friends that I should try Lemongrass near Lamcy Plaza if I was looking for some reasonably priced thai food that was somewhat authentic but did not wish to pay top dollar for restaurants that were

Was hankering for some nice, spicy thai food while I was shopping at Ibn Battuta Mall and guess what I found at the foodcourt? It was a fast-food outlet of Lemongrass known as Lemongrass Express.

There was a nice selection of 5 different stirfries, 2 types of Fried Noodles, Shrimp fried rice and 3 kinds of curries available when I was there.

After some consideration, I decided on Som Tam, Pad Med Mamuang and the Shrimp Fried Rice for dinner

Som Tam or thai papaya salad is a refreshing appetizer for the hot hot summers of Dubai . It consists of shredded young Green papaya with dried shrimps and roasted peanuts that are mixed in with a sauce that is created by mixing fish sauce, sugar and lime. They do a more than decent Som Tam for the price that I paid. AED16 or SGD$6.25.

Pad Med Mamuang or simply Stir-fried Chicken with cashew nuts and dried chilli. The chicken chunks were tender pieces of boneless chicken thigh that has been sautéed with dried chilli, bell peppers, onion slices and cashew nuts. The chicken was nicely flavored but I guess it was a little to mild for my liking cos I like my food hot hot hot! AED24 or SGD$9.40.

The Shrimp Fried Rice was almost more shrimps than rice, I counted at least 10 shrimps in my plate of fried rice. The shrimps were fresh, sweet and crunchy! I would order this dish again just for the Shrimp! AED24 or SGD$9.40.

Pretty nice fare for a foodcourt, guess I will be back for more if I’m in the area. Plus they do delivery too!


Lemongrass Express

Tunisian Court ,
Ibn Battuta Mall
food Court Area
Contact: 04 368 5616
Operating Hours:Saturday to Tuesday: 12:00 noon to 10:00 pm
Wednseday to Friday: 12:00 noon to 12:00 midnight

  1. hi!! love lemongrass too, its been a while since i last visited so I am making up by trying to make the homecooked version 😀 I hope they open an outlet here in abu dhabi!

  2. hi..i love lemongrass too. but so unlucky not available in abu dhabi. whenever im in dubai, i never missed drop by at Ibn Batuta Mall to have my lunch or dinner and of course Lemongrass Express is my choice.

    My favorite menus are Shrimp Tom Yam goong, guay tiew tom yam and poh pia tod!

    Anyway there is another Thai’s fast food outlet named Thai Express. You can find them in Khalidiya Mall and Al Wahda Mall food court Abu Dhabi.

    for me, Lemongrass Express offering better flavor than Thai Express.

    I hope there will be a lemongrass outlet in Abu Dhabi very soon!

Leave a Reply

