debz

Road to My UAE Driving License – Part 1 – Al Hamdulellah

In Musings on May 21, 2010 at 19:26

Al Hamdulellah (With God’s Grace)!!! I managed to pass the 1st part of the driving test in my quest for a UAE driving license.

The driving test is here to be taken in 4 parts and they are the parking test, the theory test, the circuit test and finally the road test.

The 1st part is the part I really hate cos it is parallel parking!!! I’m sure I’m not the only one who hates this. The day didn’t start too great, the tester was late and had be waiting for close to half an hour, real scary when you are already on pins and needles. The fear comes from a kill rate of 50% that might 1 out of 2 people will not pass this on the 1st try and that they will have to retake the test.

The tester finally arrived and I went on to the car with the instructor and 3 other students who were to be test with me. I was 2nd in line for the test, the 1st lady who tried didn’t manage the parallel parking and thus failed. I was next!!!

I then started the engine and looked back and started to put the car into reverse when suddenly this guy ran and rushed my path, I had to brake fast to not crash into him. Apparently this guy was trying to get the test and he just ran without looking. Luckily, I managed to stop in time and didn’t crash into him.

As I was kinda in shock, I guess my parking was not as good as it could be, alas, I thought I had failed. But to my surprise, the tester had passed me as she thought it was good that I managed to stop on time and thus passed me. Yay!!!

Onwards to the theory test!!! With all goes well I should be getting my UAE driving licence by end June 2010. Wish me luck!!!

  1. I HATE PARALLEL PARKING TOO! 😀

  2. what a weird guy to come out and stand in your path. anyway, you can pass, for sure. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

